Recipe: Kitchen Sink Chili

I was going to call this “OMG I Just Got Home From the Gym and I’m Starving and I Don’t Even Have the Energy to Chop a Dang Onion” Chili. But that was just a little too long.

But the reality was, I got home from the gym, and the last thing I wanted to do was chop onions and dice peppers and blah blah blah. So, this chili, which I kind of cobbled together from here and here, is filled with already prepped (but not processed) ingredients. So, I included those there, but you could obviously do your own chopping and prepping if you’re feeling more Martha Stewart than I was tonight. This version is Whole30 compliant, but I think some black beans and corn would be delicious additions. And I didn’t measure much, so I give estimates below 🙂 Also, this recipe “formatting” reflects just how lazy I was feeling tonight. But dang, it’s so good I couldn’t not share it.

Brandy’s Kitchen Sink Chili

  • Drizzle some olive oil in a dutch oven and heat over medium heat. Dump in 1 pound of ground chicken (or whatever ground meat you prefer) with a few cloves of garlic (I used pre-chopped garlic from Trader Joe’s).
  • Meanwhile, I pulsed a bag of frozen, fire roasted peppers and onions in the food processor (got those at Trader Joe’s too). Because, yup, that’s what I wanted to do. Dump in with browned chicken.
  • Toss in a bag of frozen roasted sweet potatoes (got those at Target).
  • Add a 28 oz can of tomato sauce and a can of fire roasted tomatoes with chilis.
  • Then the secret ingredient…chipotle peppers in adobo sauce. I love that stuff. When I open a can I puree it in the food processor and just keep it in a jar in the fridge. I added around 1 teaspoon? A heaping one? Just do it to taste. (Confession…it has sugar, so it’s not technically Whole30 compliant…but I don’t even care).
  • Then I just dumped in spices to taste. A big palmful of chili powder. A medium palm of cumin. A heavy sprinkling of onion powder, oregano, salt and pepper. Honestly, just sprinkle, taste, sprinkle, taste, until you close your eyes in happiness.
  • I just let the whole thing simmer away on the stove. Adjusted seasoning. And devoured.
Leave a Reply

